First Week as a FOX Chicago Intern

Initially I thought it would be difficult to arrive at work at the crack of dawn, but the energy at FOX during Good Morning Chicago makes it impossible to be tired! Reporters and anchors hustle and bustle about the station with their scripts in one hand and coffee cup in another, while editors and producers crank out any final details of their work. On busy mornings, especially those during which controversial topics are aired, the phone seems to constantly ring off the hook while viewers call to voice their feedback. Every time I have been in the station, I feel like a sponge absorbing information. It’s all new and exciting! I’ve been immersed into a new culture and have been given the opportunity to learn a whole new language…because let me tell you; the TV industry speaks a language of their own!

My biggest challenge as an intern upon entry to the station is deciding which opportunity to seize! Many times my supervisor assigns me a task, whether it’s helping the investigative producer find guests for the morning show, observing an editorial meeting, or going on an assignment with a reporter and camera crew. Some days, however, my tasks are up to me to decide! I have spent a couple hours watching the editors work, learning to master the language of the run-downs for the morning show, and digging up old scripts from news anchors to rehearse. I have made an effort to seek out an individual from each and every position type, from a cameraman to an anchor, and pick their mind about what they do!

The learning is not limited to the nuts and bolts of the news industry, but my internship also forces me to be up to date on all the latest current events. Not only do I read about and see everything that’s going on in the news, but I am also given the opportunity to be apart of the news. In just one week at FOX, I have been able to go out on two assignments and meet incredibly unique people.

The past two Mondays, I have shadowed a reporter on an assignment for the 9 pm show and watched how they put their packages together to create both compelling and informative stories.

Last Monday, we covered a story on coyote prevalence during 1521716_822473037768744_1785795100_nmating season, interviewing both an ecological professional and a family whose dog became victim to a coyote attack. The package, created by Lisa Chavarria, teaches families how to protect their pets from the increasing coyote prevalence in the Chicago area.

Watch the VIDEO here!

 

Just yesterday, I shadowed reporter Craig Wall as he interviewed an1555483_822468641102517_1984478962_n elderly couple returning from the Philippines after experiencing Typhoon Haiyan. Not only was this their first reunion with family after the difficult experience, but also their first time meeting two new members of the family.

Watch the VIDEO here!

Leave a comment